Posted by: justmiss | March 26, 2009

People Forget

People forget. They forget your name. They forget where you came from. They can’t remember how you met. They don’t remember your mom’s name, or that your favorite color used to be purple before it was green.

People forget. They walk away for a little while and they forget who you are. They forget that one time, when you went to the beach together, and you stood in the waves holding hands and laughing. They cant remember that day you rushed to a store before it closed because they really needed something from there, but couldn’t get there. They forget making plans that you looked forward to with your whole heart, that you believed because you wanted it to be true, when to them, it was just a daydream.

People forget. They forget what you meant to them. They forget that you used to spend hours laying in bed, talking about your life, giving them pieces of your past. They forget what happens when you reveal your weaknesses, how exposing your soft underbelly was a risk. A risk you were so sure you were willing to take for them. People forget the sacrifices you made, the things you put to the side, the ledges you stood on, just for them.

People forget. They forget how they laid their head in your lap and just cried, all the while you were rubbing their head and gently talking them through their tears. They forget how they held you while you sobbed in their arms, how just by holding you, they held your world together.

People forget. Is it because they are selfish? Is it because they believe they aren’t the same? Or is it because you weren’t worth remembering? Maybe it’s you that isn’t worth a second thought. Maybe people forget you because you just blend into a blur of memories that mean nothing. Maybe you haven’t been memorable.

People forget. But maybe it’s just better this way.

Yea she is beautiful
But she didn’t mean a thing to me…

Story of my life.

Responses

  1. People suck! I find it hard to believe that someone would not find you memorable, Miss. Some people only think of themselves and never think of others. Screw those people!

  2. I think people forget, intentionally, because it’s much easier to do that than to live with the regret of not making new things that could be forgotten.

  3. I don’t think they forget, I think they move on.

    I think they let their brain fill with the useless and meaningless crap of today, and other stuff gets pushed to the back.

    Memorable or not, it happens.

  4. I don’t think they forget. I know I have never forgotten. It is impossible to forget. Perhaps just move on with their lives.

  5. I can’t remember what I was going to write.

  6. People do forget, and it hurts. Especially when you can’t forget.

  7. They do forget. I would go up to people and say hi, people that I met at a party and they don’t remember me.

  8. Maybe they forget or maybe they change and even though it happened and they remember it, it doesn’t mean the same thing anymore. And it’s sad and it hurts sometimes when you’re the one who still feels it.

  9. Dude yo it’s hard to remember some of that shit though when all you remember is the fights and black stuff. Do you know how hard it was for me to dig, really dig to try to remember Good Victor to write his eulogy? How hard it is for me to talk nice nice about him to his family when all I’ve been thinking about for years is how he was such a jerk?

    I mean, if you had to write a touching heartwarming eulogy for your ex tomorrow, and you cant bank on his kid and how he loved his son because that’s like one line, if you had to paint your ex in a gleaming sparkling light, could you do it?

    Nobody’s being selfish when they forget your favorite color, it’s just that we’re all very breakable and we tend to dwell on the negative of things. Remember, pointing the finger = three fingers pointing back at yourself.

  10. This just made me want to give you a big Hug!!!
    *HUGS*

    I think sometimes things are forgotten, and sometimes they are pushed to the back of the mind. Sometimes we try to build a wall around our memories because it hurts to remember.

  11. yeah, but then one day, when you least expect it, you’ll realize that you’ve forgotten all of that too. It just takes time.

  12. I dont forget, I take the best parts and let them enrich my future. Oddly, some things never go away or come back when the wind shifts. No one really forgets, or at least will admit what they remember if its inconvenient at the time.

    Head up, it will make you stronger.

  13. Some people forget. And others remember, and they are the ones you want to move forward with . . .

    As a side not, even if they forget, I wouldn’t give up all those moments for anything, because at the time? They were all that was important.

  14. Wow. Great post. I for one, have a craptacular memory when it comes to the important stuff. It’s really not a reflection of what’s in my heart, it’s just an issue of brain clutter. I realize it hurts others and I will always struggle to be better.

  15. i agree with kelly. i don’t think people forget. i think they move on…with their memories. sometimes they think back on them but they don’t talk about it. because it could hurt. or for many other unknown reasons.
    big hugs honey.
    xo

  16. *this is me giving you a virtual hug*

    Sometimes people seem to ‘forget’ about things but they really don’t. I hope that makes sense in some way or another… or it could also be because they choose not to remember because those memories hurt (like others posted) or it could be simply because they are insane and simply forget just like that BOOM. Forgotten. Like in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, have you seen that movie?

  17. I wish I was able to forget. Sounds terrible right? but I have the problem of remembering everything even if others have forgotten.. I will admit to pretending to forget some stuff ..but only because it is my way of dealing.. xo

  18. I agree with skiplovey. That, and that everyone sees things differently. Different perspectives. A lot of people have hurt me, and I’m sure I’ve unintentionally hurt others… just like everyone.

  19. I wish I could say people really weren’t selfish, but some are. The saving grace is that some AREN’T.

    SOME people forget. SOME remember and cherish and are grateful to have you in their lives.

    Forget the people who forget, remember the people who don’t.

  20. I think people forget on purpose.

    I know I do.

  21. You’re absolutely right, people do forget. Especially the ones who don’t have the capacity to appreciate memories worth cherishing. Or sometimes it’s just too painful for them.

    That being said, I know for me it’s age. I used to remember every kids name since kindergarten, until about 5 years ago.

    But let’s make some memories in Chicago,’kay? Cuz as far as I’m concerned, you are unforgettable.

    Hugs.


Categories

