Posted by: justmiss | March 20, 2009

I’m just…

… completely overwhelmed.

In my last post, I went on about how last year, my birthday just didn’t feel special.

You all must have been listening.

I can’t even begin to explain how blown away I am by all of you.

Starting on Tuesday, my birthday took on a whole new meaning. Between Tuesday and last night,  I was treated to dinners, drinks, and some of my favorite things.

I got the chances to dress up and feel beautiful. I got to eat amazing food I’ve never had before, drink delicious wine, see a kick ass blue’s band play AND chill with the band itself.

And yesterday. From two hours before midnight (from the other time zone lovers) and well into the day, I received emails, comments, twitters, DM’s, text messages… you name it. All wishing me happy birthday, a beautiful day, and positive thoughts.

I just have to thank a few people here, and I hope that you don’t mind that I didn’t link. There are far too many of you. And that in itself is overwhelming.

To my Maria… I can’t begin to describe what you’ve meant to me these days. You are my voice of logic when I am acting like a certifiable asshole. You make me laugh in ridiculous ways. You laugh at my incredibly stupid jokes. You made me cry when you wrote for me and you made me laugh in the same instance. I fucking love you, bitch. You are and will forever be my female nerd counterpart. And thanks for the Flickr pro too bitch.

To my darling Nicole… You’ve been so supportive of me during the hardest times of my life, always holding my hand, always showing me the brighter side of some of the dimmest looking outcomes. Hearing from you and the Princess and hearing her sing happy birthday to me made me cry (again). It was the perfect treat. Thank you for allowing me to be part of your life. Even if I am “that girl from the internet who wants to steal yo cash money.”

To Terra… my beautiful Canadian lovah. The flowers you sent me are breathtaking. I love explaining to my co-workers who sent them and what you mean to me. I’ve explained it a lot. We’ve gone down some crazy roads together and you’ve always been there, holding my hand. You’ll never know what that means to me.

To the always lovely Kim… You gave me such a perfect gift, I can’t even begin to explain. I love nerdy and funny shirts. Your gift card came at a perfect time. I love you for thinking of me and for being MY friend even with your life happening around you at such a pace. You will always mean something special in my heart.

To Colleen… I don’t know what gave you the impression that I love to eat, but good job! You are amazing and are such a good friend. I can’t wait to buy you a drink and give you a hug when we meet.

To Ashley… Getting your home made card in the mail was an unexpected but SO appreciated surprise. To know you took the time to make it for me, I’m just so grateful. You are probably the sweetest person I’ve ever met online and I am SO glad to be your friend.

To Mishi and Patrick… You guys both gave me something that no one can ever take from me. The gift of music. You know how much of my life is involved in music and you, in turn, shared some of it with me. I can’t thank either of you enough.

To Jessie and Elly… Jessie thank you for the new header. I’m fighting with it to resize but once I get it, I’ll display it proudly. You are a kick ass woman and I’m happy that we are friends. Elly, I DO want to take you up on your offer. You are such an astounding person, I do hope to get to know you better!

To Sarah… You are a wonderful person with a huge heart. Thank you for your words. I can only hope that one day we can meet and I can give you that hug you deserve. Thanks for helping me get dressed on Wednesday. 😉

To You (you know, the one that everyone keeps doubting and I keep denying existence?)… You blow me away. You’ve shown me what happens when we take risks, tempt fate, and what taking chances actually means. You’ve given me movie moments, made me feel beautiful and funny, and you’ve improved the quality of my life, you do every day. You always say you’re lucky, but I’m going to have to say that I’m the lucky one here, for having you in my life. Despite what you may believe to be flaws, thank you for being you. I could not ask for more. (And I ain’t telling you bitches shit. Just smile and say aww ok?)

Seriously. If I think too hard about the last couple days and what you all have done for me, I start to cry. Not that I doubted any of you, but it is all very unexpected. That’s my own self worth talking, or I suppose, lack there of. I don’t see myself as worthy of the love and friendship you all have given me. Especially because I can be quite the bitch.

I don’t deserve any of you.

But I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Responses

  1. I love you. Me, you, Terra and Nicole? We’re going to rule Chicago man. The whole city. Leave our mark and shit. And hopefully, leave without an entry in their criminal database.

  2. Hey, I tweeted happy birthday to you. You know that’s sticking my neck way out, right? Or so I make it seem, so I get more credit…

  3. So glad you had a good day, there’s plenty more music where that came from. Kudos to Mishi too, shes a wicked good blipper!

  4. If you tell me the dimensions I will resize it for you.

  5. *hugs*

  6. Aw. I love you.
    I love that you wrote this.
    I want to know the details.
    I’ll be holding you hostage (at some time in the future) for the goods.

  7. So glad that you got the chance to get out and celebrate … looking so hawt!!! You deserve it!

  8. Oh yay! I’m glad you had a fantastic birthday!! 🙂 And for serious – I’m stoked to make you a layout! 🙂 Send me an email [elly at rarg.co.nz] when your keen to get started. Woo!

  9. When was your birthday again?

  10. I’m glad so many people can see what a fan-fucking-tabulous person you are. I lub you!

  11. SO glad that your first day of late-20’s-hood was wonderful, friend! Let’s make this the best 20-something year we’ve had so far! ❤

  12. and I suck because I missed it.
    I am so sorry.

    Freaking fantastic. You are so loved and wonderful and I am so glad that so many came out to show you that.

    LOVES. and late wishes!

  13. Looking smokin’ hawt! 😀
    Hooray for a truly Happy Birthday!!!

  14. I’m glad you had such a lovely birthday =)

  15. Awww … well, I am so happy you enjoyed hearing Princess sing to you. You know how much she adores you. You have been one of the dearest friends of my life. I hope you had a wonderful birthday and we still need to get together so that I can give you your gift! Let’s plan it.


Categories

