Posted by: justmiss | March 4, 2009

Kid-isms Part 2

Calling me from his new cell phone. I’m almost off work, headed to pick him up…

“Mom! When you leave work, just go! No texting. And no twitter. I know your hobbies!”

Damn. My own kid called me out. Too bad I’m not teaching him how to twitter with his new phone. SUCKER.

~

As I’m driving to pick him up, I get another call…

“Mom! I want to go play at the school!”

“Who’s going to watch you?”

“I dunno, there’s people there but I don’t know them.”

“You think I’m going to let strangers watch you?!”

“My dad does.”

FAB-U-LOUS

Thought I would share this quick video of him using his birthday present/reason for future ER visits. If he isn’t acting like this, he’s being a little asshole.

That’s my baby. Wait. No. He’s not a baby anymore. On Saturday, he’ll be 8. Sigh. Eight. It’s hard to wrap my mind around. I was 18 when he was born and I felt like I knew nothing about life. 8 years have gone by and some days I feel the same. But. I have this little boy who is rushing to be a man and I am not sure how to slow that down. Even though, just now, I had to remind him not to put money in his mouth. And then I had to smack him for pretending to choke on that money. Sigh.

What can I say? The kid has the ability to make my heart swell to the point of bursting and less than five minutes later, I feel like wringing his neck. It takes a special talent to do such things. See because sometimes, he stops being a brat for five seconds, and he grabs me by the hand, and he makes me dance.

And when he lays down next to me, and asks to snuggle, as I hear his breathing get heavy, I can’t help but think about how much love I have for him.

Eight.

Sigh.

Responses

  1. Your kid is nuts. I love the crap out of him.

  2. See now you’re getting this whole mommy/daddy blogging thing. You capture them when they are not being little assholes and then everyone says awww and life is good.

    awwww cute dancing!

  3. He really seems like a fun kid. And lookit you singing and shaking your stuff!
    I know how you feel. My oldest will be 9 in a few weeks. I can’t believe it. Sometimes I just want him to hurry up and grow up because “OMFG! He’s annoying the ever-loving shit out of me!!” And then other times, “I can’t believe my baby is almost 9! Where did the time go?!?” And yeah, apparently they never out grow putting things in their mouths. Just yesterday I had to yell at him to take a rubber bracelet out of his mouth. F’n kids. Stay just lovable enough so you can’t beat them.

  4. ROFL! I have to agree with BD’s comment.

    Your little man is adorable, and that clip is awesome.

    I can certainly relate to that minute to minute love/hate thing. My kiddo is the only one who can make me feel that way.

    It’s special.

  5. see…you’re going over to the mommy blogging side. and i just went over to the sex toy review side. we swapped!!!

  6. So cute! Is he really eight? Didn’t he just turn seven like, last month?

  7. omg he is such a cutie! very handsome little boy! I’m not looking forward to my daughter being four (school) I think Im going to be the one crying 😦

  8. Try and think of the trampoline as a “wear-them-down-so-they’ll-stop-moving” toy. The potential broken limbs is just a side-effect.

    At least that’s what I tell myself.

  9. LOL. He looks like a handful. Enjoy him while he’s 8 ’cause soon enough he’ll be all “I’m 16 and you’re embarrassing me..” then you’ll really want to punch him in the eye.

  10. Oh wow…. he has so much life! And energy. LOL. Happy birthday to one awesome kid!

  11. I think BusyDad might be on to something =) This is the mommy blog material!

    He’s a cutie =)

  12. Am I the only one who noticed that his pants came off as easily on that trampoline as I would imagine yours do? heh? heh? (nudge. whistle. etc.)

  13. lol awww

    oh good, so I’m not the only one who sometimes wants to wring their child’s neck. I was beginning to wonder… 🙂

  14. Happy 8th birthday! Woo hoo!

    Now, I must have that shirt he’s wearing in the first video. MUST have it.

  15. EIGHT!!! Whoot, OMG, he’s such a cutie!

    I love the dancing, I was just doing that myself with my 8 yo last night, and there is nothing like it …

    My boy turns 9 in a few weeks… I am so not ready.

  16. Aww and Heeee and OMG at his shirt, LOL!
    Great vids. I watched w/o sound, so may’ve missed a bit, but eh.

    Eight is great! Heh. Sweet trampoline! 😀
    Happy momsday to you!


Categories

