Posted by: justmiss | February 7, 2009

Fearless

This one is for you my friend. One of these days soon, you’ll close your eyes and dream again. Love you.

You know I wanna ask you to dance right there, in the middle of the parking lot

There are less things in this life than the ability to be spontaneous. To up and throw away your inhibitions, to step outside your own box, break your own routines. Some are incapable of it, others abuse the ability. I’m finding myself living quite in the moment these days. To keep my mind out of the past is a habit I am beginning to form. Like an exercise routine, it takes repetition and practice to focus on the now. And it really, really helps to have someone there to help keep your mind focused on today.

I wonder if you know I’m tryin so hard not to get caught up now
But you’re so cool, run your hands through your hair
Absent-mindedly making me want you

My favorite thing to do is drop everything to get to you. Within all the ways to connect, anytime you’re there, most everything gets pushed to the side. There are so many little tiny things that usually go unnoticed, that seem to catch my eye. Your thoughtfulness, your pride, your attention to detail, and (I don’t care what you say!) the way you remember the important things. You make it hard to stay away.

In this passenger seat, you put your eyes on me
In this moment, now capture it, remember it

When something like this enters your life, you have to hold on to the details. You don’t know where its going and the best thing to do is to stop trying to predict the outcome. Just live each minute. Be in the moment. Memorize all the lines of his face, the way his skin feels, the ridges he has on his fingernails, the sound of his breathing, the way that he touches you. That way, when you are apart, you can recall all of those details and smile, and struggle to breathe because that is how you felt when you were sitting next to him.

You stood there with me in the doorway
My hands shake, I’m not usually this way
But you pull me in and I’m a little more brave,
It’s the first kiss, its flawless, really something, It’s Fearless

Once that first kiss happens, you have to stop and recall every single second. The way he snuggled up to you while you were watching a movie. The way he got very comfortable in the ridge of your neck. The sound of his sigh, like where he was was a pretty good place to be. The way you looked at him and as he was looking back at you, he tilted his face up so that his lips met yours. Remember how your stomach was doing somersaults and as his hands became tangled in your hair, the realization of the moment started to hit you. Let it be great.

Cause I dont know how it gets better than this
You take my hand and drag me headfirst, Fearless
And I dont know why but with you I’d dance
In a storm in my best dress, Fearless

If you find someone who is willing to share a part of himself with you and drag you headfirst into his life, then you are lucky. If everything feels right, if every moment, every conversation makes you feel like you are glowing, something must be going in the right direction. It’s in our blood to intertwine ourselves with someone else. Every little piece of himself he gives to you, you should hold on to it. Every single piece of yourself that you give to him, if you know that he is holding it just as tightly, then you’re one of the lucky ones.

And you are. We both are.

Responses

  1. First … thanks, babe, for this. You are one of the absolute best friends a girl could have in their life.

    This song is one of my favorites right now. Actually, Taylor Swift is my musician of choice right now. This song is exactly how I want to feel … fearless. I have so much fear thanks to the pain I am trying to leave behind. I think this is why I haven’t been able to dream.

    I know how much we both deserve this kind of fearlessness … we will find it!

  2. This is awesome. You deserve all of this happiness and more.

    (Hugs)

  3. I love these. Sigh.

  4. You are such an awesome friend. Anyone who has you in their lives is pretty damn lucky.


Categories

