Posted by: justmiss | January 23, 2009

More Than This

As you lean in to steal a kiss
I’ll never need more than this

A glance to the left, to the right, and then a tug on my hand. You pull me close to you and steal a kiss and I can feel my heart stop for just a second. Our faces both break out in smiles as we laugh just a little bit and kiss again.

This night under stars, well, I call it peace
If you say, I’ll never need more than this

We can sit for hours, time passing like minutes and laugh. Share stories. Share concerns. Trade bits and pieces of information because it just seems like the right thing to do. Then there are other times, we don’t even need words. Just to sit across from one another, smoke drifting lazily into the sky, a glance exchanged which turns into a smile. That’s all it takes and that’s all that’s needed.

You think you’ll be happy if granted one more wish
But the truth is you’ll never need more than this

Everyone is always striving to be the best, achieve the next best thing, the latest and the greatest. Sometimes it’s ok to just slow down, take some time, and appreciate the little things that make the day worth all the while. It isn’t easy to remove yourself, to halt the busy pace of your life for even a minute but it must be done. Reach for the perspective of whats important and what will be important years from now. Let me show you how to slow down. Breathe deep and relax.

Let’s make this our story, let’s live in the glory
Time, it fades away,
Precious as a song
Cause someday we’ll be gone

It’s alright to not have the answers. Sometimes, there isn’t one. When time is short, moments shared are held tight, not one minute is taken advantage of. But sometimes I wish I could slow time down because it’s true: an hour passes like a heartbeat and even though much has been said, much has been done, I feel cheated. So I’ll keep adding to the movie reel in my head for playback at a later date. Because all those memories are worth more than anything, and the fact that I have so many already and am only going to add more, makes me smile every single day.



Responses

  1. I like this one a lot. It’s not really something I can relate to right now (personally), but I remember when I did have that…

  2. I lub you. And that’s all I’m gonna say about that.

  3. You know, you’re a poet. Sorry to be the one to tell ya, but yup. POET.

  4. deep one girl! 🙂
    and I’ll have to agree with Zoey…
    Poet! 😉

    xxx

  5. I feel ya sister. Beautiful post. Beautiful moment. Beautiful you.

  6. Miss…did you receive the spiders yet? I mailed them Monday. Hope all is well.


Categories

