Posted by: justmiss | November 23, 2008

My Best

Then…

We scream and shout and try to make it last

We fight. I’m fighting for us. You are fighting for your pride. I try to drag it out, hold on tight. But you dont want me to hold on. You wish I would just let go.

Though it didn’t work out, I don’t love you any less.

I’ll always have love for you in my heart. No matter what happens. You changed my life. I’ll always be thankful for what you have given me.

Now…

My lover or friend, I won’t ever tell. Our secret’s safe, an unspoken citadel.

It’s a beautiful thing. We hold it in our hands, with a smile that no one understands. They can see it in our eyes, distracted by its beauty. Shhh… if you tell, it will get spoiled.

I sing to remind, upon my shoulder you can rest. Because I always give you my best.

You get me. The best parts of me. The happiness. The sadness. You embrace all of it without a second though. You are one of my best friends. You are truly a beautiful person and I am forever thankful for you in my world.

I promise I will not forget, and though you’re not mine, upon your shoulder I can rest, because you always give me your best.

I will never ever take the best of you for granted. It’s like a gift. I would be a selfish child if I didn’t appreciate you for everything that you are, everything that you have been, and everything you will become. Anyone who can’t see that is a fool and doesn’t deserve to breathe the same air as you. I hope you know that. I’m thankful for the best of you. Every day.

Like a promise kept…

It’s like you never left…

Like we never had to say goodbye. Walking away, walking on air after our time together, was the hardest thing I’ve had to do. It was just SO good. Things fell into place, one after another. We flowed with no bumps in the road. And then, I had to walk away first. And I really did miss you that quickly.

And though it’s been so long, I cant ever seem to forget. All it takes is a song, and I can swear I hear your steps…

Because isn’t that just us? The music always brings me back to you. The shuffle of the iPod, or the spin of the DJ and there you are. On my mind. The corners of my lips start creeping into a smile and I’m whole again. If only for a minute.

Responses

  1. Ah … great song and an even better interpretation!

  2. Oh. *sigh* You make me feel romantic, sometimes. I actually mean that in a non-girl-lust way, for once.

  3. wow!
    girl… you really got it uh!?!?!?!

  4. Miss and this-fella-who-is-real-then-fictional-then-we-think-he-is real-then-you-say-its-not-then-we-say-he-tooootally-is real-then-you-say-fuck-yall-he’s-not-then-we-say-whatevs sitting in a tree…

  5. Ha, BusyDad…
    I had a comment in mind, but that just blew it.

    But I’ve tagged you for a seven things meme! That’s good, right? Heh… 😉

  6. I love when you do these posts.

  7. Why do I always tear up reading these?

    I love this song. Vanessa Carlton’s voice reminds me so much of someone.

    This…moved me- “The corners of my lips start creeping into a smile and I’m whole again. If only for a minute.”


Categories

