Posted by: justmiss | November 2, 2008

Collide

The dawn is breaking, a light shining through. You’re barely waking, and I’m tangled up in you.

Waking up next to you. Alarms going off, phones are ringing, obligations need to be met. I’d much rather sleep next to you for another hour or so. I’d much rather spend the day wrapped up in these sheets.

I’m open, you’re closed. Where I follow, you’ll go.

I don’t mind being led. You take me places I’ve never seen, places I’d never usually go. You break me out of routine. There is nothing I would trade that for.

I worry I wont see your face light up again.

Everything is so fragile, always on the verge of being broken. What if today was the last time I got to hear you laugh? What if this was the last time I watched your face light up in response to something I said? I couldn’t bear it. I would only be able to recall that memory for so long.

I’m quiet you know, you make a first impression.

You light up a room. I can stand back and watch you shine because the residual effects of you have always worn off on me. I’m happy standing a step or two behind you because then I have front row seats to the beautiful reaction you evoke from people. It has been breathtaking.

I’ve found I’m scared to know I’m always on your mind.

For me, you stay in the back of my mind most times. I think twice when it comes to a lot of things now. I react to everything in a new way too. My eyes open in surprise and I cant take the smile off of my face to save my life. The smile you create stops people in their tracks. They look at me like I’ve solved all the troubles we face. They are jealous, I can see it written on their faces. And yet, they have no idea why I smile. That’s the power of you.

Even the best fall down sometimes. Even the wrong words seem to rhyme. Out of the doubt that fills your mind, you finally find, that you and I collide.

What never made sense now does. What seemed impossible to have, is now sitting in the palm of my hand. Thinking you would never feel again, and having your faith restored, is a beautiful thing. All possible because we managed to collide. Sometimes being victims of circumstance isn’t such a bad thing.

Responses

  1. It’s nice when you’re the benefactor of circumstances instead of the victim. You’re right. *hugs*

  2. You keep this up and I’ll think of you with every song on the radio.

    Beautifully said, as always.

  3. Oh man, miss these words gave me flutters. I sure hope whoever this is really about knows it.

    They are one of the luckiest people on this planet.

    Thank you for sharing your heart with us.

  4. Aw, hockeyman always leaves the nicest comments.

    And yes, beautiful words girlfriend, beautiful.

  5. I just can’t stop wondering who you are writing about.

    Thanks for the reminder to look at all those moments, all those little things that made me fall in love in the first place. You know, a hundred years ago.

  6. You have a gift in writing my friend.. this was beautiful.

  7. I’m like the kid lagging behind, here. On your lyric posts, are they just how you decipher them based on your experiences, or are they NOW too?

    I have to know and you have to tell me…because, because…we’re secret lovers remember?

    Yeh, that’s it. And, because I have mommy brain. ANd pregnancy brain. Do you know what this means?

    Ps I love you.

  8. Dude I love your writing. But I’m thinking afterward, “who’s she talking about, what’s going on, what did I miss?”
    Did I miss anything Miss?

  9. Just beautiful. The ending is so true and so perfect. I can’t help but wonder as well who is the subject of these posts. So sweet.

  10. I’ve never ever been a romantic, but reading this makes me think “hmm… it actually sounds pretty cool…” Don’t tell anyone I said that. I will deny deny deny deny deny!!

  11. You’re bringing out the romantic in me, one lyric post at a time. STOP IT. I still love you, but geez woman, you make me need a boyfriend.


Categories

