Posted by: justmiss | October 24, 2008

Say

Take out of your wasted honor, every little past frustration.

Every moment spent wondering if you should have done something different, should have said something else, should have said what you actually meant or even kept it to yourself. All those little moments are gone, wasted. Add them up in your head and look at the total.

Take all of your so called problems, better put them in quotations.

Open a new post. Empty your thoughts to empty your head. Sit. Think. Wonder what others are going to say. Agonize whether you will be understood. Be judged. Worry. Think it over, again and again. Ask. Listen or not. Hope to please, hope to touch. Hit publish, close your eyes, and hold your breath. Keep wondering until the comments or emails come in. Still wonder if you were clear enough, if you had said what you really meant. If you had been real. If you were brave enough to be real.

Walkin’ like a one man army, Fightin’ with the shadows in your head.

“I have something to say” “I don’t want to let anyone down” “If I was totally real, people wouldn’t like it” “I’ve hurt enough people” “It’s not just about me” “I cant say that” “I cant be that” “I cant be myself”

Livin’ up the same old moment, Knowing you’d be better off instead.

Time to let it go. Shake it off. Stop worrying so much about what he thinks, or what she says, or what they wish you could be. You are you. You are the best person you know how to be. How can anyone ask for any more from you? If they loved you, if they cared, they would never ask for more than what you are. They would see your light. They would love to watch you shine. And you shine. You shine so bright that sometimes I have to look away. But the smile stays on my face.

You better know that in the end it’s better to say too much, then never to say what you need to say again.

Here’s your chance. What if you don’t get it again? What if all the courage that you’ve built up ends up falling flat? Where is that going to leave you? Here is your chance. Say what you need to say. Don’t be afraid. Whoever is left standing after you’ve blown everyone away are the ones who deserve to hear your voice.

Even if your hands are shaking, and your faith is broken. Even as the eyes are closing. Do it with a heart wide open.

Why? You really want to know why? Because you fucking CAN. Because you should. Because at the end of your days, you can look back and say, “Yeah, I fucking SAID it. There it is. I said it and I don’t regret it.” Don’t regret anything. Everything you do today, everything you did yesterday, and everything you will do tomorrow is going to effect who you are, who you will become, and who you will touch. Everything happens for a reason. Don’t regret yours.

Say What You Need To Say

Open a New Post. Write. Feel like every word you wrote is exactly what you believe. Believe in yourself. Believe in your words. Believe in your strength. I do. There’s a start. Even if it started with just one person saying “I Believe”. Take a leap from there.

Responses

  1. How timely was this post??? I read it twice. Almost done with mine, as I worry that people will think, or if it came across like I wanted it to, or if people will think I’m a pompous ass.

  2. “Whoever is left standing after you’ve blown everyone away are the ones who deserve to hear your voice.”

    I’m writing that in eyeliner on my bathroom mirror. You blow me away sometimes, you know that?

  3. I AM SPEECHLESS. I bow, breathless, even. And then glare at John Mayer.

  4. Excellent! So true. So true. Make every day the day you want it to be. Say that you need to say. Write what you need to write. How ever people interpret what you wrote or said is not your problem. Own your life, own your words, own your reality. I strive to do this every day since I finally said what I needed to say.

  5. Damn.

  6. Miss, you are an icon of this virtual world we occupy. Your words here are true, honest and pure. I just wanna give you a hug, pinch your cheek and say amen sister. Your words are inspiring and thank you for sharing all of them. From your first posts to this one. I like reading what you have and need to say.

  7. this is my most favorite post of yours ever.

  8. You’ve just blown me away. It’s like you wrote this to me – which is what great writing is all about.

    Just, blown away.

    I love you, girl. Seriously.

    xoxoxo

  9. Wow. I just bookmarked this.

  10. Thank you. Just. Thank you.

  11. “…Even if your hands are shaking, and your faith is broken. Even as the eyes are closing. Do it with a heart wide open.” (And don’t apologize)

    Amen.

  12. You know, 98% of the posts you write, I think you’re talking to me. You have a really special gift.

    Thank you xo

  13. Miss, while reading your post, I thought of this song……….
    Believe
    If your back is pinned against the wall
    And the stress is killing you,
    And the cross you carry on your back
    Makes it hard for you to move
    In yourself believe, it’s all right
    In yourself believe, you’re all right

    If you ran away to loose your soul
    And you’re scared to death you’re wrong,
    If you’re past the point of turning back
    And your innocence is gone
    In yourself believe, it’s all right
    In yourself believe, it’s all right

    If it’s something that you can’t forget
    That somebody did to you
    If you’ve had your fill of being down
    Then there’s nothing left to prove,
    In yourself believe, it’s all right
    In yourself believe, you’re all right

    Believe by King’s X

    Peace, Mike.
    P.S. Sorry about the Didgers.

  14. You make me believe, you really do.

    That last paragraph blew me away.

    Posts don’t get much better than this.

  15. Fantastic post.

    “Be judged. Worry. Think it over, again and again. Ask. Listen or not. Hope to please, hope to touch. Hit publish, close your eyes, and hold your breath. Keep wondering until the comments or emails come in. Still wonder if you were clear enough, if you had said what you really meant. If you had been real. If you were brave enough to be real.”

    I really get this.

  16. I think we all feel this way to a certain extent.

    If you knew how many times I read and re-read a post before and AFTER I hit ‘publish’ you’d shake your head at me and roll your eyes.

  17. Brilliant. Simply brilliant. I can relate in so many ways.

    “Open a new post. Empty your thoughts to empty your head. Sit. Think. Wonder what others are going to say. Agonize whether you will be understood. Be judged. Worry…. Hit publish, close your eyes, and hold your breath.”

    That’s me. Nearly everyday.

    Thank you for sharing this.

  18. Honest, good.

  19. I think you wrote this to me.. because it sounds like you are writing it directly at me..

    Probably one of my favorite post EVER .. not even kidding..

  20. incredible time 10

  21. incredible times 10


Categories

